ABC News Prints Creationist Bunk as Legitimate Science

46476758_ardi-compositeAnother layoff on this blog, I must say I’ve missed it!  There is an awful lot going on, but I guess I was waiting for a story that really got my juices going, and here it is!  ABC news online has a story posted in the last couple of days that treats the creationist response to the recent fossil find as legitimate, even giving the drool of noted creationists the same weight as real scientists.

A quote from the first page of the article is revealing:

“What creationists believe about human origins we get from the Bible,” said David Menton an acclaimed anatomist and also a creationist. “The creation of the world takes place on page one of the Bible. If you throw out the first page of the Bible you might as well throw out the whole thing. If you can’t live with the first page then pitch out the remaining thousand pages.”

I agree with  Menton when he said if you throw out the first page of the bible you might as well throw out the whole thing, ’cause that’s exactly what should be done with the remaining thousand pages.  Written by bronze-age  sheep herders, Menton thinks the bible is a science book, and he would replace solid science with folk myths and fairy tales.

I blame Russell Goldman, the moron at ABC for the story, though, the creationists just do what they do, it’s Goldman who gave them the credibility they crave.  Publishing this drivel online on the site of a major, mainstream news organization is unforgivable, and he should be drummed out of legitimate news.  Perhaps he could find a job at FOX!

I guess what bothers me most is that the story was in the “Science” section, when it should have been placed under “religion.”

2 responses to “ABC News Prints Creationist Bunk as Legitimate Science

  1. Thanks for the comment Paul, I’m glad you like the blog. I can’t believe you got to meet Carl Sagan. His book The Demon-Haunted World is one of the most important books I’ve ever read.

    • Thank you! I had been working with Carl’s lab for quite some time over a purchase they were considering, and one day he just happened to be there when I was. If you liked Demon Haunted World, pick up “The Variety of Scientific Experience.,” Carl’s Gifford lectures.

Leave a Reply

